Advisory Board

Magnus Berggren – Chairman of the Advisory Board

Magnus BerggrenMagnus Berggren is the Önnesjö professor at Linköping University, Sweden, and guides the research activity of the organic electronics group. The 25 scientists of the organic electronics group aim at exploring electronic and optoelectronic functions of organic materials for paper electronics and bioelectronics applications. Dr. Berggren is the director of the Strategic Research Center for Organic Bioelectronics (OBOE) and is also the research manager at the Printed Electronics Arena (PEA). He collaborates closely with the Karolinska Institutet and several industries to explore novel organic electronics for drug delivery, tissue engineering, paper display, and sensor applications. In 1996, Dr. Berggren received his PhD in applied physics, from Linköping University, and started as a postdoctoral fellow at Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, New Jersey. In 1997, he joined a team of investors and scientists to establish Thin Film Electronics AB (TFE), a company that develops printed organic memories. Dr. Berggren was the managing director for TFE until 1999. Then, he joined Acreo Institute to explore paper electronics and in 2001 he became a professor of organic electronics at Linköping University.

Harold Craighead

Harold CraigheadHarold Craighead is a Professor of Applied and Engineering Physics and the Charles Lake Professor of Engineering at Cornell University in Ithaca NY, USA. He was the founding Director of the US Nanobiotechnology Center, co-founder of Pacific Biosciences Inc, and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering. His research has involved nanofabrication and new device approaches for biotechnology applications and biochemical analysis. His recent research activity includes the study of single molecule methods for epigenetic analysis, aptamer selection and sensing.

Christophe Bernard

Christophe BernardChristophe Bernard is Director of Research 1 at INSERM UMR 751 (Faculté de Médecine Timone, Marseille). After an initial training in theoretical physics and mathematics, he did a Ph.D. on “Theoretical and experimental analysis of cellular activity in the cerebellum”. He then did a Post Doc in Southampton University with Howard Wheal on synaptic plasticity in an experimental model of Temporal Lobe Epilepsy. Since then, his activity has been focused on the mechanisms underlying the construction of an epileptic brain. He has been awarded with the Michael Prize in 2007.